Good reads

I have been working on finalizing our book list for the Fall.  I have planned an “Expedition” on sea dwellers by taking a look at the coast as habitat for both animal creatures and human persons.  What do animals need in order to live?  How do people make their living from the sea?  More about that to come…

So I have been compiling a list of readings to do, non-fiction and fiction, and I have been very impressed with the local library’s children collection.  I did not know what to expect before arriving on island, but it seems that the Joeten-Kiyu public library has a specialty for ocean related books for elementary-aged children.  What they do not have, I have ordered with the intention to leave behind many as donations since it is impractical for me to carry them home anyway.

I have also been collecting titles of documentaries to view, and since we only have Netflix streaming available to us, the options are more limited.  But today, one called “Maidenhead” popped up and I think it will fit quite nicely.  We will be doing a unit on navigation and exploration, and even if it doesn’t fall perfectly under that subheading, I think an argument can be made that Laura Dekker has most certainly been making a name, and a living, off of the fame or her successful solo circumnavigation of the globe.  And she is a kid!  I’ve only watched the first part but so far it is almost unbelievable!

This site, from the Wisconsin Water Library, is one I keep returning to, along with this somewhat shorter list from the Beach chair Scientist, along with this list of resource links.

I am not quite ready to publish my suggested reading list here yet (though I intend to eventually), and anyway I am still taking suggestions.

What books on oceanography, tidal pools, shipwreck survival, or exploration/navigation do you love and recommend?

Update: The kids and I watched about half of “Maidentrip” and I wanted to make a couple of comments.  First of all that Laura Dekker uses some foul language at times.  Secondly, she gives as one of her main inspirations for undertaking this journey the fact that her regular life in highschool was boring and that she did not connect to other students her age.  While others are out for money, or just looking for a calm life with marriage and their own children in the future, she has always wanted more. 

These are not surprising words for a 15 year old, on the one hand, but I do hope that she will discover that there is no such thing as a boring life unless you choose it for yourself, and that she will not persist in her belief that marriage and children are the antithesis of a life of adventure.

2 thoughts on “Good reads

Leave a Reply

