The End.

So that’s it.  We finished our school year on Saipan.  The kids have graduated into 3rd, 4th and 6th grade.

photo (48)

Hooray for summer vacation!  Hooray for no more Math!  Hooray for sleeping in and staying in our pj’s as long as we feel like.

______

Back when I started this blog, I set out to chart the successes here, and I have stuck to that resolution and veered away from posting anything that may leave me, or a reader, discouraged. So if sometimes it has all seemed a little too good to be true, that’s because…um…Saipan is a wonderful, magical place where all your dreams come true.

Yeah right. No place that has this many cockroaches could truly be magical.  (I grew up with them and you’d think I’d be used to them by now, but I am not and I never, ever will be!)

But Saipan does have wonderful, magical beaches at sunset. (Have I mentioned that already?)

DSC04698

In case you have never homeschooled, ever, and are wondering if a tropical island is the place to start your home study career, I would definitely say ‘Yes.’

Here are some plus-es: There is no winter during which to catch a bad case of cabin fever.  There are plenty of places to send grumpy students to play outside, all year long, so they can work out their grumps.  There is a very decent and respectable collection of library resources, for such a tiny and remote island.  We have a remarkable breadth of ethnic diversity, with folks from east and southeast Asian countries such as: China, Nepal, Bangladesh, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan, Korea and Malaysia.  Not to mention the odd European, Australian or even Mainlander (yes–we are here, though in small number!).  Internet access is pretty reliable (I understand that some houses do not get great connectivity, but ours has been quite good).

But back to the tough stuff for a minute: there were definitely times when I, as an amateur teacher with no formal training, felt the way I do during long races: is this over yet?  

I am so tired, I want to stop. Right. Now.  

The finish line seems so far away!  There is no way I will ever make it.

Kind of like how during the third trimester of pregnancy where you start to believe that you will definitely, most certainly, for SURE be pregnant for ever and ever for the rest of your life and never be able to see your toes ever again.

DSC04508

Here I am, during a recent half marathon. It is a blurry shot because I am so hot and soaking wet from the rain and tropical heat. (Well, that’s how I remember it, anyway…)

And then, after not quitting, and after reaching the goal, you realize: I can rest now.  This feels great.  I actually pulled it off.  How DID I do that?  Yay it’s over!  I can stop running now.

You feel kind of like this:

DSC04514

It was a good time, I am glad we did it.  There were more benefits than I even hoped for, and more blessings than I can count.

Time for donuts.

2 thoughts on “The End.

Leave a Reply

